Day One Hundred and Fifty-Eight

I’m more of a mint than a gum person.  Erica’s a healthy person.  So, the mints that we collectively tend to favor are Altoids, because they don’t have some of the toxic and killer chemical thingies that other mints do.  However, open up a package of Altoids, and the tin will quickly tell you how dangerous it is to be consuming them.  I guess I’ve never really considered mint-eating to be a risky activity.  There’s only a few risk-related side effects that I can think of:

Choking – Get a mint lodged in your trachea, and you choke.  Usually that’s a bad deal.

Addiction – I eat several of these things a day.  I pop them like pills.  I am in denial.  That’s an addict thing, right?

Disappointment – You always run the risk of setting your expectations too high.  Altoids really talk up a big game of how curious and strong they are.  But, the wintergreen that I have and love?  Not nearly as curious or strong as their peppermint counterparts.

So, I guess mint-eating is a fairly risky thing in the end.  I might be setting myself up for choking, addiction, and disappointment – but at least I’m not pumping aspartame in my body!

 

2 thoughts on “Day One Hundred and Fifty-Eight

Leave a comment